Friday, October 24, 2014

i get it, i'm still single

I dropped my kids off at Spanish on Friday and ran in to some kids in my class 2 years ago:

Kid 1: Are you married yet?
Me: Nope.
Kid 2: Still? Man. You weren't married when we were in second grade and you still aren't married?!
Me: Nope. Sorry ladies, I don't know what to tell you.
Kid 2: Remember when I told you that you should marry my gerbil because it's cute and fuzzy? He's still available if you want to marry him! You probably should....I can't believe you aren't married yet!
Me: (walking away) Thanks for making me feel better about my life!
Kid 1: Anytime Ms. Ewing!

The very next day a girl from my class last year came up at recess and told me she was telling the lacrosse coach that came to help out with PE the past few days that he should date me. Her exact words were, "I told him he should be your boyfriend! I said you were pretty and he's a boy so he should ask you out!" 

Good lord. These kids are going to kill me. Maybe I should take up the first girls offer to marry her gerbil.

groceries

In the forest the first week of school, I was working on my grocery list.

Kid: What are you doing?
Me: I need to go to the grocery store this weekend so I'm working on my grocery list.
Kid: Woah.
Me: What?
Kid: That's a lot of food you're going to buy. I guess you haven't gone to the store all summer.

Monday, October 20, 2014

all white girls look alike

When we were in the forest earlier this year this conversation happened:

Kid: You and Ms. Moran look alike!
Me: Really? I mean, we're both girls...and have blonde hair.
Kid: Yeah. But you also both have really big noses.

At this point the girl she was with started giggling and they both ran off. Thanks kid.

authentic vs. african

Remember this awesome kid? She was one of my favorite, and always had something redonk to say. Well luckily she says hi to me at recess whenever we're out there at the same time. I was wearing a Willie Nelson shirt when this conversation happened:

Kid: I have that shirt too!
Me: Yeah, well mines more authentic. 
Kid: What does that mean? Like it's African? Is that what you did this summer? They have those shirts in Africa?

kid quotes are back!

I've been meaning to update with the ridiculous things my kids have been saying this year....but I just haven't had the time! I'm back in school getting my masters and librarian certification which has taken any free time I have away. (Conferences, report cards, and other regular work stuff hasn't helped this problem.) Any free time I do have has been spent trying to have a life. 

ANYWAYS, I will be updating over the next few days some things that have already been said. But let's start with a sweet one. 

Today at recess a boy from last year came up to me:
Kid: I have a question for you Ms. Ewing.
Me: What's up?
Kid: Why are you so beautiful today? (huge smile)
Me: (laughing) What?
Kid: You're so beautiful today!

At this point he gave me a hug and ran off. Apparently I am too beautiful to be at school. I'll take it! (It's better than what another kid said earlier this year. You'll probably enjoy that quote better.)

Wednesday, July 30, 2014

las vegas

I realized I never posted about my Vegas trip! We went to see Britney Spears, but used Katie and her upcoming wedding as an excuse for a bachelorette party. It was my first time there and I couldn't wait! We got in Friday afternoon and walked around, being touristy and going to all of the hotels and seeing that fountain that's in every movie about Vegas. It's weird seeing it all in person.
Heading to the airport!
 Where we were staying.
 Our view.
 Walking around the strip.
Obligatory hotel pictures. (Sorry)
 Waiting for us! From one of Katie's friends.
 It took awhile....
Of course we gambled after dinner, and I actually won! The slot machines and I became good friends, and I'm sure they miss me. 
 Watch out Vegas, I'm coming back for you!

The next day we spent the day at the pool. I always heard you had to get to the pool early to get chairs...I didn't really believe them. We got there at like 9 or 10 and there were NO chairs left. None. We batted our eyelashes and one of the workers found some somewhere and carried them to the pool for us. We spent they day laughing, meeting ridiculous people, and listening to awesome music from the dj. 
That night we got ready and headed to Planet Hollywood to see the one and only Britney! We were so excited!
We found a place to eat and sat and ordered. It was hot in there and I started not feeling well, and getting light headed. I jokingly (so I thought) said "I don't feel well. I think I'm going to faint." Well, I spoke too soon. Next thing I know I'm laying on the ground looking up at my friends in the lap of a random lady holding ice and wet towels to my neck and head. They called the EMS who immediately asked how much I had to drink that day. Fair question, we are in Vegas after all, but I only had 3 beers, hours earlier. They checked all my vitals, and everything but my blood pressure (it was some crazy low number) looked good. He said I could go to Britney, and I would faint once I stood back up. Or, go with them to the hospital to get fluids in me. I didn't know what to do, so I went with them. 
Fully embarrassed, annoyed I would miss Britney, and feeling guilty because Sheri came with me, we headed to the scariest hospital I've ever been to. I didn't want Sheri to come with me, because that meant she would miss Britney. However, once we got there, I was glad she was with me. It was like a psych ward in there! Lots of crazies screaming nonsense. All tests came back normal, other than me being super dehydrated. Right before I left the nurse came in to do an EKG and all I could think about was more money I would have to spend, and how tired I was. (For those of you that haven't fainted before, it takes a lot out of you.) I asked her why she had to do it, her response? "You know all those news stories you hear about football players just dropping dead? I'm doing this to make sure that doesn't happen to you." Fair enough. She did the test, and sent us on our merry way. 

We got back to the hotel, and tried to sleep for about 4 hours before leaving to go back to Austin. I didn't see Britney, but the rest of the trip was a lot of fun! Until we meet again, Vegas.

Saturday, July 26, 2014

baby atticus

I've been living my summer life over here and just realized I haven't posted in quite some time. Sorry, not sorry. It's been a crazy, and fun, past few weeks traveling all over. It started with visiting the newest addition to my family, baby Atticus! I had an awesome week playing with Miles, and holding Atticus every chance I got. (When Miles allowed it.) 

Miles was really sweet, every morning he would come downstairs and quietly open my door and gently shake me to wake me up. Just kidding. My mornings began with Miles coming downstairs and screaming outside my door to wake up. I guess that's better than him yelling in my ear to wake up. I thought it was pretty cute that he wouldn't open the door. I would just yell back at him to come in so I wouldn't have to get out of bed. He would also help me put on makeup and choose my earrings. One day I got ready without him and he was very upset I didn't want to wear earrings. 
We did a lot of fun things while I was there, but you don't care about that. I know you're just wanting to see pictures of Atticus, and more of Miles. So here you go. You're welcome.